State Treaty – Article 7

FLG. No. 152/1955

The rights of the Slovene and Croatian minorities

1. Austrian citizens in Carinthia, Burgenland, and Styria who are members of the Slovenian and Croatian minorities shall enjoy the same rights on the basis of the same conditions as all other Austrian citizens, including the right to their own organizations, assemblies, and press in their own language.

2. They shall be entitled to elementary-level instruction in the Slovene and Croatian languages and to a proportional number of middle schools; in this regard, curricula shall be subject to inspections and an education supervision department shall be established for Slovene and Croatian schools.

3. In the administrative and court jurisdictional districts of Carinthia, Burgenland, and Styria with Slovene, Croatian, or mixed populations, the Slovene or Croatian languages, as applicable, shall be permitted, in addition to German, as official languages. In these districts, topographical names and signs shall be written in Slovene or Croatian as well as German.

4. Austrian citizens in Carinthia, Burgenland, and Styria who are members of the Slovene and Croatian minorities shall take part in cultural, administrative, and judiciary institutions on the same conditions as all other Austrian citizens.

5. The activity of organizations aimed at depriving the Croatian or Slovene population of their status and rights as a minority shall be forbidden.

Staatsvertrag - Artikel 7

BGBl. Nr. 152/1955

Rechte der slowenischen und kroatischen Minderheiten

1. Österreichische Staatsangehörige der slowenischen und kroatischen Minderheit in Kärnten, Burgenland und Steiermark genießen dieselben Rechte auf Grund gleicher Bedingungen wie alle anderen österreichischen Staatsangehörigen einschließlich des Rechts auf ihre eigenen Organisationen, Versammlungen und Presse in eigener Sprache.

2. Sie haben Anspruch auf Elementarunterricht in slowenischer und kroatischer Sprache und auf eine verhältnismäßige Zahl eigener Mittelschulen; in diesem Zusammenhang werden Schullehrpläne überprüft und eine Abteilung der Schulaufsichtsbehörde wird für slowenische und kroatische Schulen errichtet werden.

3. In den Verwaltungs- und Gerichtsbezirken Kärntens, des Burgenlandes und der Steiermark mit slowenischer, kroatischer oder gemischter Bevölkerung wird die slowenische oder kroatische Sprache zusätzlich zum Deutschen als Amtssprache zugelassen. In solchen Bezirken werden die Bezeichnungen und Aufschriften topographischer Natur sowohl in slowenischer oder kroatischer Sprache wie in Deutsch verfaßt.

4. Österreichische Staatsangehörige der slowenischen und kroatischen Minderheiten in Kärnten, Burgenland und Steiermark nehmen an den kulturellen, Verwaltungs- und Gerichtseinrichtungen in diesen Gebieten auf Grund gleicher Bedingungen wie andere österreichische Staatsangehörige teil.

5. Die Tätigkeit von Organisationen, die darauf abzielen, der kroatischen oder slowenischen Bevölkerung ihre Eigenschaft und ihre Rechte als Minderheit zu nehmen, ist zu verbieten.